Alumni & Collaborators

Raine Lab Alumni

Postdoctoral Researchers

Alana Pindar crop

Dr. Alana Pindar (UofG, 2015-2021)

Now the Weston Family Visiting Professor in Ecosystem Health and Food Security at Cape Breton University. Email: Alana_Pindar at CBU.CA

Ana Montero smaller crop

Dr. Ana Montero-Castaño (UofG, 2018-2020)

Now a Project officer for the European Commission, Joint Research Centre: Directorate D – Sustainable Resources, Food Security Unit, Ispra, Italy

Liz Franklin

Dr. Liz Franklin (UofG, 2017-2019)

Now a Lecturer at Cornwall College Newquay, UK


dara headshot crop

Dr. Dara Stanley (RHUL, 2013-2015)

Now a Lecturer at the University College Dublin, Ireland


Rich Gill headshot

Dr. Richard Gill (RHUL, 2011-2013)

Now a Senior Lecturer at Imperial College (Silwood Park), UK


Mathieu Lihoreau 2010

Dr. Mathieu Lihoreau (QMUL, 2009-2010)

Now a CNRS Researcher, University Paul Sabatier (Toulouse), France


Mathieu Molet crop

Dr. Mathieu Molet (QMUL, 2007-2008)

Now a Lecturer at Sorbonne Université, Paris, France


PhD Students

Kayla Mundy

Dr. Kayla Mundy-Heisz (UofG, 2017-2020)




Susan Chan

Dr. Susan Willis Chan (UofG, 2016-2020)

Now an Postdoctoral Researcher at UofG



Gemma Baron

Dr. Gemma Baron (RHUL, 2011-2015)

Co-supervised with Prof. Mark JF Brown (RHUL)

Now an Ecology Officer for the National Trust, UK

Lisa Evans

Dr. Lisa Evans (RHUL, 2011-2015)

Now a Research Scientist at Plant & Food Research, Australia


Karen Smith

Dr. Karen Smith (RHUL, 2011-2015)


Now an Administrator at Royal Holloway University of London


Masters Students

Emily AgarEmily Agar (UofG, 2018-2021)

Now a GIS Analyst, Conservation Information and Planning with the Nature Conservancy of Canada


Leah Blechschmidt - Headshot crop
Leah Blechschmidt (UofG, 2017-2020)

Now a Project Manager with the Sustainable Agriculture Initiative Platform 


Ellen Richard net crop resize

Ellen Richard (UofG, 2017-2019)

Co-supervised with Dr. Dirk Steinke


Harry RusnockHarry Rusnock (UofG, 2015-2019)

Now a Macro Quality Assurance Leader, Crop Defenders Ltd


Claire Rubins

Claire Rubens (UofG, 2016-2018)

Now a Research Associate working on identifying wild bees


Dylan SmithDr. Dylan Smith (RHUL, 2012-2013)

Recently completed PhD at Imperial College, now an editor at Springer Nature


bee flying over vasesRobert Mitton (RHUL, 2011-2012)



Oscar Ramos Rodriguez

Oscar Ramos-Rodriguez (RHUL, 2011-2014)

Now a Statistician at Biostatech, Santiago de Compostela, Spain


Research Associates

Melissa Tonge (UofG, 2015-2016): Now an Environmental Consultant at North-South Environmental Inc. & Metis Reconciliation Officer, Parks Canada

David Hobby (UofG, 2015): Now an MSc student at University of Potsdam, Germany

Emma Mullen (UofG, 2015): Now an Extension Associate (Pollinator Network) at Cornell University

Work Studies/ Summer Research Students

2019-2020: Alexandra Falla, Duncan Glancy, Wyatt Glancy, Amy Mathialagan, Yu Ni, Kaitlyn Raine

2018-2019: Tim D’Addamio, Sara Dagg, Alexandra Falla, Grace Gilvesy, Sage Handler, Amanda Hill, Sisley Irwin, Amy Mathialagan, Chloe Papalazarou, Taylor Paradis, Linley Sherin, Samantha Shrubsole, Matthew Stein, Drew Virgin

2017-2018: Mark Bosco, Beatrice Chan, Cathal Doherty, Rebecca Francolini, Mathew Gibson, Joe Gilvesy, Eden Gerner, Sage Handler, Amanda Hill, Sisley Irwin, Sarah Mackell, Amy Mathialagan, Lauren McElroy, Glenys Robinson, Maria Rojas, Emma Woods

2016-2017: Emily Agar, Beatrice Chan, Katie Fisher, Joe Gilvesy, Sage Handler, Amanda Merchant, Lauren Moran, Dillon Muldoon, Ellen Richard, Matthew Wood, Leonard Zettler

2015-2016: Emily Agar, Katie Fisher, Claire Rubens


Prof. Madhur Anand, School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph

Dr. Ignacio Bartomeus, EBD-CSIC (Doñana Biological Station), Seville. Spain

Dr. Tjeerd Blacquière, Wageningen University, Netherlands

Dr. Jordi Bosch, CREAF, Bellaterra, Spain

Prof. Mark Brown, Royal Holloway University of London, UK

Prof. Lars Chittka, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Prof. Bill Deen, Dept of Plant Agriculture, University of Guelph

Dr. Lynn Dicks, University of Cambridge, UK

Prof. Anna Dornhaus, University of Arizona, USA

Prof. Evan Fraser, Department of Geography, University of Guelph

Dr. Mike Garratt, University of Reading, UK

Prof. Sir Charles Godfray, University of Oxford, UK

Prof. Ernesto Guzman-Novoa, School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph

Prof. Rufus Isaacs, Michigan State University, USA

Dr. Jenny Jandt, University of Otago, New Zealand

Colin Jones, Provincial Arthropod Zoologist, MNRF, ON

Prof. Vincent Jansen, Royal Holloway University of London, UK

Prof. Christian Krupke, Purdue University, USA

Prof. Elizabeth Lee, Dept of Plant Agriculture, University of Guelph

Dr. Elli Leadbeater, Royal Holloway University of London, UK

Dr. Mathieu Lihoreau, CNRS/ University Paul Sabatier (Toulouse), France.

Dr. Carlos Lopez-Vaamonde, INRA – Site d’Orleans, France

Dr. Andrew MacDougall, Dept. of Integrative Biology, University of Guelph

Dr. Scott McArt, Cornell University, USA

Dr. Greg Mitchell, Environment and Climate Change Canada/ Adjunct Professor in the Biology Department, Carleton University, Ottawa, ON.

Prof. Ralph Martin, Dept of Plant Agriculture, University of Guelph

Dr. Felicity Muth, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Prof. Ryan Norris, Dept. of Integrative Biology, University of Guelph

Prof. Juliet Osborne, University of Exeter, UK

Dr. Theresa Pitts-Singer, USDA Logan, Utah, USA

Prof. Simon Potts, University of Reading, UK

Dr.  Ryan Prosser, School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph

Prof. Miriam Richards, Brock University, ON

Dr. Maj Rundlöf, Lund University, Sweden

Dr. Cory Sheffield, Royal Saskatchewan Museum, Regina, SK

Dr. Jeff Skevington, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada/ Adjunct Research Professor in the Biology Department, Carleton University, Ottawa, ON.

Dr. Dirk Steinke, Biodiversity Institute of Ontario, University of Guelph

Prof. Graham Stone, University of Edinburgh, UK

Dr. Dennis VanEngelsdorp, University of Maryland, USA

Dr. Adam Vanbergen, INRA, Dijon, France

Prof. Neal Williams, UC Davis, USA

Prof. Pat Willmer, University of St. Andrews, UK

Prof. Jeri Wright, University of Oxford, UK

Dr.  Andrew Young, School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph